Thailand-UK ประเทศไทย-สหราชอาณาจักร

Forums ฟอรั่มส์

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 34
  1. #1
    Rookie มือใหม่
    Join Date
    21 Aug 2006
    Location
    Windsor, Berkshire. Bangkok & Choc Chai, Khorat.
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default WARNING !!!!! Sky charging for 18185 calls

    I have just been Invoiced by Sky for 2 International calls to Thailand totalling £85 and I have un invoiced calls totalling another £30. I have called Sky and they told me that If 18185 reject the call It would be redirected by Sky without the 18185 prefix and duly charged by Sky. This has also happened to one of our friends. Has this happened to any of you.

    I have put an International call bar on Sky calls and have just tested it and seems to be working ok.

    Any advice on claiming for these calls from Sky would be greatly appreciated.

    Regards

    Phil

  2. #2
    Premium Member Gary & Nok's Avatar
    Join Date
    6 Mar 2006
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    10,336
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Can't help about the claiming but to avoid anything like that (we are with Sky) we use Localphone and have got local numbers to call so it goes on the free minutes. Re-dial after 1 hour mind or it will cost.

  3. #3
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    5 Nov 2006
    Location
    Stourbridge
    Posts
    7,916
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I use 18185 but I'm one of the few with a BT landline. If I get problems I speak to a nice person in islamabad to sort it out. Luckily I've had no problems with 18185.

    Not sure what you mean, you have dialled 18185 first then 0066 (8 ?) And the number. Sometimes I don't get through at first but I hang on and it goes into redial mode and then get through (sometimes) - if I don't I just start again.

  4. #4
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ
    Join Date
    22 Dec 2009
    Location
    england
    Posts
    565
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I've just bought a SKYPE top up voucher from Sainsbury's. I then redeemed my voucher with Skype only to find out that I have lost £1.30 without making a call. . .. I have been trying to find the telephone number to call SKYPE, but so far I am having no luck.

    If there is anyone who knows the phone number for SKYPE, then can you please let me know.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Forum Dinosaur ไดโนเสาร์ KhunIanB-UK's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Apr 2003
    Location
    Dublin - Reading - Ban Phu, Udon Thani
    Posts
    6,818
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Incredibly Skype don't offer a telephone support service, "Customer Support" can be found through this page...
    https://support.skype.com/en-gb/faq/...stomer-Service

  6. #6
    Premium Member ian1208's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Sep 2002
    Location
    Between Glasgow, Thailand and beyond!
    Posts
    2,723
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Is the £1.30 not VAT (or 1 off charge) that is deducted as soon as you activate the voucher/code? Look in your 'account' box.
    Judging others before you have met isn't a wise option.

  7. #7
    Moderator richardb's Avatar
    Join Date
    6 Oct 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,220
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfy View Post
    I use 18185 but I'm one of the few with a BT landline. If I get problems I speak to a nice person in islamabad to sort it out. Luckily I've had no problems with 18185.
    Ditto 18185 via BT works very well and saves us a fortune.

    Richard

  8. #8
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ
    Join Date
    22 Dec 2009
    Location
    england
    Posts
    565
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ian1208 View Post
    Is the £1.30 not VAT (or 1 off charge) that is deducted as soon as you activate the voucher/code? Look in your 'account' box.

    I bought a SKYPE voucher through Sainsbury's and on the SKYPE website it doesn't say that " Skype will charge you an extra £1.30 for a top up voucher by visiting your local Sainsbury's )

  9. #9
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    5 Nov 2006
    Location
    Stourbridge
    Posts
    7,916
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I tried to call Mai the other day via 18185 and couldn't get through so i tried 08448 612121 ("call charges are 1p per minute" said the recorded message)

    Anyway just got my January BT Bill and noticed on there they have charged me 15p for my one attempt at using the above number. I was only on the phone for 30 seconds, as soon as i heard "for English please press 1, press 2 to leave a phone number" i hung up.

    So, i wont be using that number again.

    At least on 18185 there are no such "extra" charges.

  10. #10
    Forum Antiquity ของโบราณ Linne's Avatar
    Join Date
    3 Dec 2005
    Location
    sw london/surrey
    Posts
    4,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    still using BT ?

  11. #11
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    5 Nov 2006
    Location
    Stourbridge
    Posts
    7,916
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    If i could get out of that bit too i would, it's a 12 month landline agreement. Once this runs out BT can stick their services where the sun dont shine.

  12. #12
    Forum Antiquity ของโบราณ Linne's Avatar
    Join Date
    3 Dec 2005
    Location
    sw london/surrey
    Posts
    4,355
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Plusnet are supposed to be much the same in respect of being able to use 18185. I always wait for the message stating the call cost and sometimes redial. Plusnet have a very short contract.

  13. #13
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ
    Join Date
    22 Dec 2009
    Location
    england
    Posts
    565
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Linne View Post
    Plusnet are supposed to be much the same in respect of being able to use 18185. I always wait for the message stating the call cost and sometimes redial. Plusnet have a very short contract.
    Correct me if I am wrong, but isn't Plusnet part of BT

  14. #14
    Moderator Tobias's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Jun 2003
    Location
    UK/USA
    Posts
    13,866
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    44

    Default

    I don't think so lamai, IIRC they are an unrelated recently plc'd company based in Sheffield.
    Tobias - โทเบียส
    If you want to know where I am, follow me on my Thailand-UK Blog.

  15. #15
    Furniture เฟอร์นิเจอร์ bifftastic's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Feb 2011
    Location
    East London/Chiang Saen, Chiang Rai
    Posts
    3,955
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I think that they were bought by BT in 2007, they may well operate independently, but I think BT still own them.
    ไม่ลองไม่รู้

  16. #16
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ
    Join Date
    30 Jun 2011
    Location
    Lancashire U.K. / Buri Ram
    Posts
    680
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default

    This may shed some light on the "Who Owns Plusnet" question.... It says BT !!!

    http://www.thinkbroadband.com/isp/plusnet.html

  17. #17
    Moderator John's Avatar
    Join Date
    11 Sep 2002
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    8,372
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I have called Sky and they told me that If 18185 reject the call It would be redirected by Sky without the 18185 prefix and duly charged by Sky.
    My understanding, rightly or wrongly, is that the Sky telephone service do not allow dialaround codes such as 18185 ..... which is why I have steadfastedly refused to sign up to the Sky telephone service.

    We have signed up to the CPS service of Superline, which charges just 2.5p per minute for calls to Thailand. So even if someone forgets to dial a dialaround code, just 2.5p per minute is not too bad.
    John

  18. #18
    Forum Antiquity ของโบราณ Linne's Avatar
    Join Date
    3 Dec 2005
    Location
    sw london/surrey
    Posts
    4,355
    Post Thanks / Like

  19. #19
    Serial Poster ผู้โพสต์ต่อเนื่อง colin244's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Aug 2005
    Location
    Essex/Phitsanulok
    Posts
    11,650
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Lots of options these days but don't forget T-UK Telecom which although 4/5p pm supports this forum

    colin 244

  20. #20
    Premium Member Gary & Nok's Avatar
    Join Date
    6 Mar 2006
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    10,336
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by John View Post
    My understanding, rightly or wrongly, is that the Sky telephone service do not allow dialaround codes such as 18185 .....
    You are correct John, they have not allowed this for some time now.

    Much prefer SKY to BT and I still think LocalPhone is a great option as it can be used with my free SKY minutes and also my free minutes on my mobile.

    LOS is 1p for landlines and 1.6p to mobiles.
    We won our trophy back
    Champions Champions Champions

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •