PDA

View Full Version : windows vista v's xp



michael001
9th Sep 2007, 11:21
hi 2 weeks ago we invested in a new desk top for no other reason than to have a more up to date unit, it has the vista installed on it and i'm finding it more hassle than ever, the xp was no prob's
firstly hell of a job to to log onto the forum, then i get mail from EVA and it,s all gobboldi gook, mail from asia hotels unreadable can't fully install existing printer.
should i remove all installed and reload with xp well not me i'll take it to a pc shop to do any advice

michael001
9th Sep 2007, 11:21
hi 2 weeks ago we invested in a new desk top for no other reason than to have a more up to date unit, it has the vista installed on it and i'm finding it more hassle than ever, the xp was no prob's
firstly hell of a job to to log onto the forum, then i get mail from EVA and it,s all gobboldi gook, mail from asia hotels unreadable can't fully install existing printer.
should i remove all installed and reload with xp well not me i'll take it to a pc shop to do any advice

johnboy
9th Sep 2007, 11:33
Why don't you talk to the shop where you bought it from and explain to them the problems your having with it and see if they will install xp for free or maybe they will change the computer for you i have a friend who had trouble with vista and he got the computer changed.

aidan mcmahon
9th Sep 2007, 11:43
michael i have just done the same as you i bought a data transfer cable made by belkin from currys £30 .00 transfers all progams files photos etc this might be able to help you also i used a etherenet cable connector to connect to broadband it is the other connector to mini hub i hope this helps aidan

JamieP
9th Sep 2007, 13:50
I would normally say don't move to a new Operating System until the first Service Pack is released.

The Beta release for Vista is now out and it might be worth trying that before anything more drastic. I saw the details on another forum here. (http://bbs.adslguide.org.uk/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=windows&Number=3104288&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=0&fpart=1#Post3113570)


Disclaimer: I'm still an XP dinosaur and have no experience of Vista whatsoever.

ash
9th Sep 2007, 21:10
I have one box with vista and nearly all hardware over 2 years old e.g. printers scanners wlan cards etc did not work and in some cases there were no drivers available yet.

I have problems here getting XP in English so Vista was my only short term option but I am seriously thinking of reinstalling XP quite soon.

The above said when it works it pretty much okay and seems stable and I guess if your starting from scratch and do not need the network its the way to go.

ash

chocolate-eater
10th Sep 2007, 02:37
I am a bit of a tech guy myself and read a lot of pc magazines and tech forums and your query is one I see each day. So many people are finding vista not good enough especially if you system is not up to above the min requirements. Now I now you said you have a "new" system but, some of the major retailers have a tendancy to give you a system that only just meets the requirements for vista and will therefore run slowly and sluggish.

Your driver problem is another well known problem and as mentioned above I would also wait for SP1 until I install it as system.

When I do build pc's for customers I use 2gb now for all builds since ram is so cheap now - 2gb about £50, and you would laugh how much 1gb would have cost about 3 years ago.

I like XP and think its a fantastic operating system. There are a lot of anti-microsoft people out there who try and put them down, but it works really well. I use XP on all my 4 computers i use for my work. I did try Vista but went back to XP.

If you have a knowlegable friend who could do this, or you could do it yourself, get some partition software such as partion magic. Create a seperate partition and load XP back on to here. Create a multi-boot system then, so when you turn it on you will have the choice of 2 operating systems, XP and Vista. If you have a system with XP on you know longer use, I think you may be able to transfer the licence over.

Derren

michael001
10th Sep 2007, 02:58
thanks for the replies it's a
intel R core(TM)Duo CPU E6650 @2.33GHZ 2.33GHZ
memory 2047 system type 32 bit operative so i told it should be up to scratch using vista HP

chocolate-eater
10th Sep 2007, 05:37
Yep definetly sounds up to the task.

Derren

John
10th Sep 2007, 12:13
So pleased that my computer here is immune to all this talk about Windows versions. Changed over to Ubuntu a few months ago ... and have never regretted it.

michael001
14th Sep 2007, 12:15
asta la vista
baby i ve just d/loaded the vista onto disks and now i am going to install xp on my new pc wish me luck http://thailand-uk.com/groupee_files/graemlins/hat.gif

packpao
7th Feb 2008, 08:32
Excellent!

http://www.engadget.com/2008/02/07/nec-offers-official-...a-downgrade-product/ (http://www.engadget.com/2008/02/07/nec-offers-official-vista-downgrade-product/)


http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.engadget.com/media/2008/02/xpvistasigntwo.jpg

manfarang
7th Feb 2008, 13:27
You can download virtual pc (http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/downloads/2160279/microsoft-virtual-pc-2004) from micro$oft now. :shrug:

Its designed to run old stuff ("Host your own virtual operating system") on Vista. I was hoping it would also work on my XP machine to run some old Win 95 programs, but it won't. :bah:

packpao
8th Feb 2008, 03:51
In that case you'll want VMWare Workstation (http://www.vmware.com/download/ws/)

Packpao