Thailand-UK ประเทศไทย-สหราชอาณาจักร

Forums ฟอรั่มส์

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  7
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Default Poor English Speakers in Buriram these days???

Sitting in a bar in Buriram recently, a rather inebriated young man in his late 20's/early 30's came up to me and introduced himself - this guy had a very strong Scottish accent.

I asked him what he did for work to which he replied "I'm an English teacher"

LOL I have a Kiwi work colleague who has some opinions about the English ability of your average aussie

Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ Big AL's Avatar

Having a Scottish accent does not mean that the person speaks or writes poorly. A Scottish person might object to a teacher with an English or Welsh accent. ESOL teachers are sometimes from non English speaking countries. Many people learn to speak English with an American accent. American English is spoken by more people than UK English.

An ESOL teacher used to post on here "We was", "you was" and other examples of poor English. These were not typos. That is more worrying: his English was poor.

Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ

Maybe it's my accent but I'm failing to see the hilarity in your post Flip.

Is the joke that a Scottish accent makes a person a poor speaker of the english language?

I think it might be interesting see if any of his learners developed the accent of the teacher. I notice many Pilipino English speakers seem to have American accents.

If that was their only source of learning I think they would Linne. My kids could't speak any English when they came here but now have Scottish accents when speaking English.

I think a lot of the American accents are picked up learning English from movies/TV/music.

Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ Big AL's Avatar