Thailand-UK ประเทศไทย-สหราชอาณาจักร

Forums ฟอรั่มส์

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  5
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default What's normal in Thailand

I am planning to move to Thailand within the next 2 years. Although I've been travelling to Thailand for over 15 years, have had short stints living there etc. etc. Despite this experience certain events are beginning to make me wonder if I'm doing the right thing and whether or not I can actually live there permanently. I realised a long time ago that Thai's and westerners 'think differently' but recent events are making me think that western and Thai cultures are not compatible.

Taking things back a few months, my wife and her friends went over to my house and trimmed back some trees in the garden. They dumped the cuttings on some disused farmland across the road. When I arrived a few weeks later and saw this I was alarmed. She said not to worry, its normal. As it was organic waste that would rot away I didn't make a fuss.

I am currently having my house renovated ready for the move (the agro I'm having with the builders is a completely seperate matter ) and have a friend there acting as my eyes and ears. Today I asked if the site had been cleared and all the rubble and waste taken away - this was part of the contract and priced accordingly. "Yes, its all in the 'jungle' opposite the house" was the answer. What? Builder's rubble dumped on my neighbour's land? You can imagine my response but it just makes me think.......can I really get along with people who think such behaviour is acceptable?

This is not like fly tipping in the UK - they actually think this is OK!!

Anyone else had similar experiences?

It's called the path of least resistance

The picture shows how Thai hikers would take the easier route, I guess the longer arduous ones are taken by Brits
    Last edited by marshall; 5th Dec 2017 at 12:38.
    The clock on the wall reads a quarter past midnight

Veteran ผู้มีประสบการณ์