Thailand-UK ประเทศไทย-สหราชอาณาจักร

Forums ฟอรั่มส์

Thanks Thanks:  65
Likes Likes:  289
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 11 of 11 FirstFirst ... 91011
Results 201 to 210 of 210
  1. #201
    Premium Member KhunIanB-UK's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Apr 2003
    Location
    Coventry - Ban Phu, Udon Thani
    Posts
    7,585

    Default

    15A also seems far too low for me as a supply cable to the house/consumer unit and ray8472 is correct in that watts=volts x amps. If you were then to use, at 240v, a 9Kw shower:- 9,000/240=37.5Amps.

    Better have that checked on otherwise you could be very limited on appliances you can safely use without incurring overloads or glowing/igniting cables.

    I tried to find recommendations for UK and looks like 100Amps is a recommendation for normal usage eg:-
    https://www.thespruce.com/electrical...y-home-1152752

    Best to get the proper cable fitted first otherwise it will need complete replacement/complete new run for a higher capacity later.

  2. #202
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ Lonerider's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2016
    Location
    Yorkshireman divided between Chum Phae & Iraq
    Posts
    450

    Default

    I am a bit confused, I dont really understand electrics. But I dont know if I have confused people, but the 15 amp is the power coming in from the outside main line along thick cables to my house and in to my Breaker box, my breaker box has the correct amp breakers in and my wiring is good i believe, 6 mm for my cooker, 4 mm for water heaters/aircon.
    When I get home I will speak to the electrician but everyone has said it will be ok, ie my electrician and the guy from the electricity board

  3. #203
    Member สมาชิก
    Join Date
    2 Nov 2016
    Location
    Greater London
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Interesting article

    "Most homes have an electrical service of between 100 to 200 amps."


    For a typical Thai rural home that doesn't have hot water, no hot shower, doesn't have heating, doesn't have air-conditioning and where the cooking is done outside with gas, 15A may well be enough. It is definitely worth checking. Why not post on that other forum where there are clearly ex-pat electricians who can advise.

  4. #204
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ
    Join Date
    27 Apr 2004
    Location
    Ubon Ratchatani
    Posts
    440

    Default

    Don't worry too much, Wayne. A 15 amp meter will be sufficient for your present needs. I suggested a 30 amp meter as that is the largest size available for normal domestic use. The difference in cost is not too much so it would allow for a bit of "future proofing" for when bits get added in the future.
    In my house we started with a 15 amp meter then changed to 30 amp. We have 5 air cons, 2 x 4.3kW showers and a few other bits and bobs, tv's, washing machine etc. Have only ever had 4 air cons on and both showers in use when the children have brought their friends around for sleep overs. However only one is left here and I take her to live in England next Wednesday.
    We have a couple of small apartment buildings. They have 30 amp meter then subdivided to smaller meters for each room, That though comes in as a 3 phase supply.
    The article mentioned is American. I guess the 100 Amps mentioned is because they use 110 volts. I have just bought a 2.2 KW oven. This pulls 10 amps. In America, a similar oven would pull 20 amps. (amps=power divided by volts)

  5. #205
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ
    Join Date
    22 Nov 2003
    Location
    Egremont Cumbria
    Posts
    922

    Default

    Going by the size of cable they have installed, I wouldn't worry to much.
    You probably have wiring sufficient enough to pull 100 amps should you find 15 amp is inadequate for your needs.

  6. #206

    Default

    I asked our sparky here in the uk about this. He said over here he would run a 30a feed to the oven 30a feed to a hob 32a feed to an electric shower. He said the average input to a home in the uk is 60a but modern houses are 100a. He said it must work differently over there somehow as 15a would be disastrous here

  7. #207
    Premium Member sisaket's Avatar
    Join Date
    7 Jan 2007
    Location
    UK / Bangkok
    Posts
    1,745

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lonerider View Post
    @ Sisaket....Very jealous you were at the MOTO Gp lol, I bet it was great
    I really enjoyed it, this year was a solo trip due to complaints of the weather being too hot last year
    bangkok mags

  8. #208
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ
    Join Date
    22 Nov 2003
    Location
    Egremont Cumbria
    Posts
    922

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by walshie View Post
    He said the average input to a home in the uk is 60a but modern houses are 100a.
    Single phase has a maximum current of 100 Amp. If the over head line is three phase, then you will have access to three phase which is 300 Amp.
    My house in the UK is self build and even now there is still only single phase power supplied to our area. To save on cost's, I purchased and buried the armoured cable, just leaving the utility company to hook up to the main supply.
    Since then we have built a restaurant/cafe, again to save on cost's, the supply goes from my home under ground to the property. So, two properties are going off the same single phase feed of 100 Amp. When you take into account the business property has commercial fridges/freezers and cooker, plus numerous other electric appliances, you would of thought a 100 Amp feed would be insufficient for the two dwellings, yet I have never had an issue.

    - - - - - - - u p d a t e d - - - - - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by KhunIanB-UK View Post
    If you were then to use, at 240v, a 9Kw shower:- 9,000/240=37.5Amps.
    Surely that will be the rating using a shower on the maximum settings though Ian. I have two showers in my home, say they are both 9Kw showers, what will the usage be though when we are using them on economy settings on a lower temperature. The only time we use them on a higher setting,not max, is when the water supply is a lot colder.

  9. #209
    Premium Member KhunIanB-UK's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Apr 2003
    Location
    Coventry - Ban Phu, Udon Thani
    Posts
    7,585

    Default

    Surely that will be the rating using a shower on the maximum settings though Ian. I have two showers in my home, say they are both 9Kw showers, what will the usage be though when we are using them on economy settings on a lower temperature. The only time we use them on a higher setting,not max, is when the water supply is a lot colder.
    True, the only time ours uses maximum settings is when Aom uses it to wash up after the som tam and durian sessions, the only time nothings hot enough

  10. #210
    Member สมาชิก
    Join Date
    2 Nov 2016
    Location
    Greater London
    Posts
    107

    Default

    I have no idea what out recently built house in Chiang Rai has. I wasn't there to be asked, and I doubt they asked my wife. Currently one heated shower and just one air-conditioner. Dozens of light bulbs though ! In the evenings outside the place is lit up like a Christmas tree. I wonder it they are low power ones. They are the recessed light units.

Similar Threads

  1. Isaan restaurants in the UK
    By Barnet in forum Culture
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th Jun 2017, 17:30
  2. ATM in Isaan. THEFT and nothing you can do?
    By fickleneungy in forum Banking / Sending Money Abroad
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th Oct 2009, 19:29
  3. Isaan sausage
    By rolyshark in forum Recipes - Thai and other
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2008, 02:48
  4. Isaan Air
    By IanB in forum Transport
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 3rd Oct 2006, 11:03

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •