Thailand-UK ประเทศไทย-สหราชอาณาจักร

Forums ฟอรั่มส์

Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  3
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 32 of 32
  1. #21
    Premium Member Gary & Nok's Avatar
    Join Date
    5 Mar 2006
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    13,223

    Default

    Why do you not just extend the one you get for the next trip. It does not cost a lot to keep the SIM "active" if you are not in the country to use it.

    I've had the same SIM for about 8 years now.
    I'm ONE of the 52%

  2. #22
    Guest Flip's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,995

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gary & Nok View Post
    Why do you not just extend the one you get for the next trip. It does not cost a lot to keep the SIM "active" if you are not in the country to use it.

    I've had the same SIM for about 8 years now.
    Who's that to Gary? If you mean me, my SIM is much like yours - I've had it a long time. But the package I use over there auto renews every month. I used to ask them to cancel it just before I left but they don't always do it and if there's sufficient credit left on my account it renews and is wasted. I also forget so towards the end of my stay I only but 100 baht top ups - then if its left live not a lot can be wasted. If there is insufficient in the account to renew, it cancels so I call in at the DTAC desk when I next arrive and start the package off again.

    As I was trying to say before when Mr I Know Everything about Thai mobile contracts chirped up (note he's banned now), the package I get is only ever advertised in Thai - I can't remember the exact deal but its not normally advertised at the airport counter or on the English version of their website. It was my ex who pointed it out to me - I think its about 299 baht per month with unlimited internet but it does throttle back on speed after so much is used. Whatever, its always been enough for me - I'm not a teenager with a phone implanted in my head.

    Where've you been by the way? Thailand?
    Last edited by Flip; 19th Aug 2018 at 02:16.

  3. #23
    Premium Member Tom & Nok's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jul 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    687

    Default

    Hi Flip

    I found that by logging in at DTAC's English language web site I could turn off the pesky default autorenewal on the package which I happen to be using at that time.

    I use the DTAC site to top up credit with my UK credit card (that UK credit card has no overseas FX loading charges). Indeed I've done this here in Thailand where we've just arrived.

    Like you, I've had my SIM card/Thai number with DTAC for many moons. It's straightforward to preserve existing DTAC credit from the UK and I do this. Using my DTAC SIM card in the 'phone in the UK, I dial the following USSD code from my 'phone:

    *113*180*9#

    This extends the existing credit validity for another 180 days at a cost of 12 Baht (plus Thai VAT). This is debited from the existing credit on the SIM card. There is no charge for using the USSD code in the UK.

    You'll get a reply confirming that your DTAC SIM credit is extended and giving the new expiry date.

    You can extend for 30, 60 or 90 days as well. Just replace the 180 above with 30, 60 or 90. Extending for 30 days costs 2 Baht (plus Thai VAT), 60 days costs 4 Baht (plus Thai VAT), and 90 days costs 6 Baht (plus Thai VAT).

    While waiting for baggage at the baggage carousel at BKK earlier this week, I signed up for the DTAC unlimited internet "Best Value!" deal which gives 30 days at 1Mbps max speed (no throttling) for 30 days for 300 Baht (plus Thai VAT) - the USSD code is *104*370*9#

    I saw that the airside bank currency rate offered by TMB, K-Bank et al is just over 39 Baht to the pound. I always use the Head Office branch of Super Rich where I got 42.55 Baht to the pound.
    "I can calculate the movement of the stars, but not the madness of men" Sir Isaac Newton

  4. #24
    Guest Flip's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,995

    Default

    Thanks for that Tom. I can actually top it up from my Thai bank account but the ability to cancel the auto renewal online is very handy should I forget. I have to leave some credit on as my Thai mobile is on roaming to allow me to receive one time passwords when I make transactions on my Kasikorn online banking.

    I didn't realise that those USSD codes would work from the UK - thanks for that also. .

    - - - - - - - u p d a t e d - - - - - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom & Nok View Post
    While waiting for baggage at the baggage carousel at BKK earlier this week, I signed up for the DTAC unlimited internet "Best Value!" deal which gives 30 days at 1Mbps max speed (no throttling) for 30 days for 300 Baht (plus Thai VAT) - the USSD code is *104*370*9#
    That sounds very similar to the deal I use - can't remember the USSD as I delete all my messages from DTAC - due to the huge amount of advertising they bombard me with. I think mine starts off higher then throttles back to 1Mbps.

  5. #25
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ Sammy Shrimper's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 May 2018
    Location
    Basildon/Pattaya
    Posts
    305

  6. #26
    Premium Member Tom & Nok's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jul 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    687

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flip View Post

    That sounds very similar to the deal I use - can't remember the USSD as I delete all my messages from DTAC - due to the huge amount of advertising they bombard me with. I think mine starts off higher then throttles back to 1Mbps.
    I definitely sympathise regarding that DTAC marketing - I have a dual SIM phone with both my UK and DTAC SIM cards. When I leave the tube in London, I often receive SMS messages from DTAC about their special deals for roaming in the UK! Nice to know that they're still thinking about me when I'm in blighty 555.

    Yes, there's a 30 day deal (recurring as usual) with unlimited internet at 4Mbs for 500 Baht (plus Thai VAT) - the USSD code is *104*389*9#
    "I can calculate the movement of the stars, but not the madness of men" Sir Isaac Newton

  7. #27
    Guest Flip's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,995

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom & Nok View Post
    Yes, there's a 30 day deal (recurring as usual) with unlimited internet at 4Mbs for 500 Baht (plus Thai VAT) - the USSD code is *104*389*9#
    As I mentioned, I can't remember the exact details of my deal and I've deleted the messages so don't have the USSD. The one thing I do know is the cost - 299 baht.

    I also use a dual SIM phone and don't miss the memory card slot the additional SIM uses. The bombarding happens in Thailand but I do get messages about roaming costs in the UK.

  8. #28
    Premium Member Gary & Nok's Avatar
    Join Date
    5 Mar 2006
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    13,223

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flip View Post
    Who's that to Gary? If you mean me...
    Sorry no it wasn't Flip, as I followed ray8475 post (so did not use a quote) it was directed at him.
    Sorry for the confusion but thanks for responding anyway
    I'm ONE of the 52%

  9. #29
    Old Hand มือเก่า
    Join Date
    29 Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,489

    Default

    it dosent matter what i get as when i go wife's home im so bloody close to Laos my phone makes its own mind up what signal i get and wham bam thank you mam 500 baht gone ,D tac i normally get ,wife is on AIS

  10. #30
    Guest Flip's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,995

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Samsung View Post
    it dosent matter what i get as when i go wife's home im so bloody close to Laos my phone makes its own mind up what signal i get and wham bam thank you mam 500 baht gone ,D tac i normally get ,wife is on AIS
    You must have Roaming turned on the surely? You should be able to cancel that and only connect to Thai networks

  11. #31
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ Big AL's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Aug 2007
    Location
    Luton
    Posts
    731

    Default

    I have never used a mobile in Thailand, but my wife buys a sim card at the airport. What was Wundebar describing when he spoke of using codes? Could someone kindly explain?

    Thanks.

  12. #32
    Old Hand มือเก่า
    Join Date
    29 Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,489

    Default

    Not so sure Flip always had problems when i go to misses home ,sits on the river bank in Bueng kan nong khail so laos is a dingy ride away ,and the phones just jump from thail-laos signal you do have to be careful maybe your right but then i wouldn't have a signal at all its a proper pain ,

Similar Threads

  1. ESTA [for trips to the USA]
    By jimbojet in forum Schengen and Other Visas
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th Jan 2016, 22:17
  2. Best all rounder [UK Mobile phone service]?
    By londonfarang in forum Phone Calls
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th May 2014, 08:53
  3. Mobile Passport Service In Birmingham
    By Tai in forum Thai Visas, Documents, etc.
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd Jan 2013, 14:18
  4. Limit on trips to Thailand
    By Declan in forum Thai Visas, Documents, etc.
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 22nd Feb 2010, 11:50
  5. LOS - Mobile Service Thai Passport at Roi Et and Sakon Nakhon, Feb 2010
    By Chula in forum Thai Visas, Documents, etc.
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Jan 2010, 16:08

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •