Thailand-UK ประเทศไทย-สหราชอาณาจักร

Forums ฟอรั่มส์

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Boeing 737 max

  1. #1
    Old Hand มือเก่า
    Join Date
    29 Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,661

    Default Boeing 737 max

    A lot of us on here travel by plane would you be nervous getting on one of these
    Lion air have a lot of them .
    I know i would be .https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-47548083
    another link which tells you who have grounded them .
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-47523468

  2. #2
    Guest Flip's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,995

    Default

    On the outside chance that there is some kind of fault with the aircraft, I would not fly on one at the moment.

    Another concern is that although the 737 max 8 is not used for long haul, I wonder if the re-scheduling that must be going on to accomodate the groundings will affect long haul flights? I use Etihad and they don't have any 737's but others who are flying soon may be well advised to keep a close eye on things.

  3. #3
    Old Hand มือเก่า
    Join Date
    29 Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,661

    Default

    Trump orders all planes in US to be grounded

  4. #4
    Old Hand มือเก่า
    Join Date
    29 Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,661

    Default

    10 hrs ago the FAA said it was perfectly safe now boeing grounds every one made .
    Full of confidence maybe a warning concerning brexit business over safety .
    extract below taken from the BBC
    However, the company's market value has dropped by nearly $26bn since the crash in Ethiopia at the weekend.
    Last edited by Samsung; 14th Mar 2019 at 00:36.

  5. #5
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ
    Join Date
    5 Apr 2008
    Location
    Phala Rayong
    Posts
    624

    Default

    i just wonder where the airline will find planes to replace the grounded ones, i know Qatar have some planes sitting around, or they did have. maybe some airlines have some that have just been or about to be retired, they may have to reduce a number of flights maybe combine 2 flights etc. in the short term it must be a mess in the USA as they just stopped the use of these aircraft and cancelled flights, that will take some sorting out, it should effect us doing long haul, but some may be used if doing a 1 stop route

  6. #6
    Veteran ผู้มีประสบการณ์
    Join Date
    3 Apr 2003
    Location
    Herefordshire / Wang Thong
    Posts
    2,368

    Default

    Last week flew to Khon Kaen and back on Thai Lion Air, thankfully all went well. Very comfortable plane in fact.
    Lucky

  7. #7
    Premium Member -Keith-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2002
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,386

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steve187 View Post
    i just wonder where the airline will find planes to replace the grounded ones
    There are only 371 currently in service. That might sound a lot but it's a tiny % of the global civil fleet.

    - - - - - - - u p d a t e d - - - - - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Lucky View Post
    Last week flew to Khon Kaen and back on Thai Lion Air, thankfully all went well. Very comfortable plane in fact.
    Landings can be a bit bumpy.
    If you're offended by any assistance I give, it says far more about you than it does me.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Join Date
    28 Jun 2003
    Location
    London/Bangkok
    Posts
    2,432
    We do not inherit the Earth from our ancestors; we borrow it from our children.

  9. #9
    Old Hand มือเก่า
    Join Date
    29 Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,661

    Default

    yes vinny but in previous post i made the FAA said they were safe and sound and then had a massive u turn when trump ordered them to be grounded ,

  10. #10
    Old Hand มือเก่า
    Join Date
    27 Jan 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,486

    Default

    Do Thai Airways have any 737 Max?

    Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Old Hand มือเก่า
    Join Date
    29 Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,661

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by te2008 View Post
    Do Thai Airways have any 737 Max?

    Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk
    according to this link no they dont but lion airways do which operate cheap flights around Thailand .
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-47523468

  12. #12
    Premium Member -Keith-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2002
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,386

    Default

    Trump didn't order anyone to ground their fleet. He just pre-emptied the FAA announcement.
    If you're offended by any assistance I give, it says far more about you than it does me.

  13. #13
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ
    Join Date
    5 Apr 2008
    Location
    Phala Rayong
    Posts
    624

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -Keith- View Post
    Trump didn't order anyone to ground their fleet. He just pre-emptied the FAA announcement.
    In a statement, Boeing said it "continues to have full confidence in the safety" of its airplanes, but agreed with the government's decision "out of an abundance of caution and in order to reassure the flying public of the aircraft’s safety."

  14. #14
    Premium Member -Keith-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2002
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,386

    Default

    The FAA are the Government (US Dept of Transportation)
    If you're offended by any assistance I give, it says far more about you than it does me.

  15. #15
    Premium Member caller's Avatar
    Join Date
    7 Sep 2005
    Location
    Hua Hin & Bangkok
    Posts
    5,564

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Samsung View Post
    according to this link no they dont but lion airways do which operate cheap flights around Thailand .
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-47523468
    But they are temporarily grounded. But that will be extended now
    'Tis me

  16. #16
    Moderator Tobias's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Jun 2003
    Location
    UK/USA
    Posts
    16,540
    Blog Entries
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -Keith- View Post
    Trump didn't order anyone to ground their fleet. He just pre-emptied the FAA announcement.
    No doubt so he could take all the credit for it!
    Tobias - โทเบียส

  17. #17
    Guest Flip's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,995

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -Keith- View Post
    Landings can be a bit bumpy.
    Come on Keith, that's not nice.

  18. #18
    Old Hand มือเก่า
    Join Date
    29 Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,661

    Default

    On a serious note 2 high profile incidents for a aircraft 2-3 year old is not good ,and boeing will not want the crap at there door 26 billion off there shares since the incident .wiped off !

Similar Threads

  1. A Boeing gets a make over
    By Gary & Nok in forum Transport
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Feb 2014, 12:33
  2. Asiana Airlines Boeing 777 crash
    By colin244 in forum Off Topic Lounge
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2013, 00:07
  3. Thai Airways Seat Plan Boeing 741/747-200
    By Chris Buck in forum Transport
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th Mar 2013, 23:42
  4. Emirates promotes Newcastle to Boeing 777
    By toddmeister in forum Transport
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th Sep 2012, 00:29
  5. Boeing 797
    By handyman in forum Transport
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2012, 16:05

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •