Thailand-UK ประเทศไทย-สหราชอาณาจักร

Forums ฟอรั่มส์

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Premium Member Allan's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Jan 2009
    Location
    Dagenham / Pattaya / Korat
    Posts
    421

    Question House Build. Korat

    Does anybody on here know whether Alan from Together Construction is still in business? Just checked their website and all reference to Alan has been removed or deleted including any reviews / testimonials. Several months ago, Alan's name was prominent on all pages and contact details of the website. The only reference now is to "Lin". Also, the business location appears to have moved.

    Just wondering whether anyone has any more details?

  2. #2
    Guest Flip's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,995

    Default

    Alan Sinclair 0853482501

    I contacted him when my first contractor screwed things up. He came out, looked at the job, said he would do it but was busy for a couple of months. Then despite several messages on LINE, I never heard from him again.

    There is the other Allan - Allan the builder but he's usually busy for a year in advance. He also likes to stick to builds closer to his home.

    When are you hoping to start?

  3. #3
    Premium Member Allan's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Jan 2009
    Location
    Dagenham / Pattaya / Korat
    Posts
    421

    Default

    Thanks for that, Flip. I'm hoping to make a start this year, if possible. When I looked at Allan the Builder's website I noticed that he will travel but only if the job is big enough. I'm pretty certain that my half rai of land and modest budget won't be enough to make it worth his while. We actually bought the land over a year ago. Originally, a rice field so we've built it up a few feet with earth etc with 2 sides of the perimeter wall to keep it all in place. Hoping to get the chanote (?) registered at the amphur when I'm over there next month and then after that, we should be good to go - fingers crossed! Well, it is Thailand after all!! 555

  4. #4
    Furniture เฟอร์นิเจอร์ ian1208's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Sep 2002
    Location
    Between Glasgow, Thailand and beyond!
    Posts
    3,184

    Default

    As a 'rule of thumb' it should be left to settle for a fair length of time especially if a rice field. Surely it wasnt just earth that you filled in with (?)

    ian1208
    Judging others before you have met isn't a wise option.

  5. #5
    Premium Member Allan's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Jan 2009
    Location
    Dagenham / Pattaya / Korat
    Posts
    421

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ian1208 View Post
    As a 'rule of thumb' it should be left to settle for a fair length of time especially if a rice field. Surely it wasnt just earth that you filled in with (?)

    ian1208
    No Ian, it was a mixture of earth and rubble / boulders etc. That itself was done over a year ago.

  6. #6
    Member สมาชิก
    Join Date
    7 Oct 2010
    Posts
    47

    Default

    I am not building on filled in ground I am driving 16 concrete piles in and having proper foundations.

  7. #7
    Guest Flip's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,995

    Default

    It is not always necessary to use either filling or piles - check the geology first. A Scotsman who worked on the piling teams for the new Bang Pa In to Nakhon Ratchsima tollway close to my house told me that they were hitting rock at around 1m deep in many places. OK, 1m may be a little deeper that you'd go for a standard footing in the UK but if I had to choose between concrete pads on filled land and digging 1m down to solid rock - there would be no contest.

    However, I wouldn't change the type of footing because it suits the construction type - concrete beam superstructure. I would still use pillars to support the frame above - just bed them on to rock.

  8. #8
    Forum Regular สมาชิกประจำ Lonerider's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2016
    Location
    Yorkshireman divided between Chum Phae & Iraq
    Posts
    461

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by welshguy View Post
    I am not building on filled in ground I am driving 16 concrete piles in and having proper foundations.
    Yep, great idea, mine has been done like that, they came and drilled the soil to find out what they need to do, ended up with 22 three metre columns pile driven in to the ground then concrete blocks on top of those.
    So, fingers crossed

Similar Threads

  1. House build cost?
    By Merc Fintail in forum Migration / Emigration / Living in LOS
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2018, 13:40
  2. A Thai " house " build for $9000 USD
    By richardb in forum Migration / Emigration / Living in LOS
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 29th Oct 2014, 21:10
  3. Build a house in Thailand or buy ready-made?
    By the_link in forum Accommodation / Tourism
    Replies: 99
    Last Post: 27th Jul 2012, 22:05
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th Feb 2012, 03:28
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Nov 2007, 18:19

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •