Thailand-UK ประเทศไทย-สหราชอาณาจักร

Forums ฟอรั่มส์

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Member สมาชิก

Dear all,

I do need some legal advice and hope some of the forum members who has knowledge or experience about this can help me please.

I would like to buy a business. It's a 'Lease Hold' takeaway shop. Now after few weeks bargainning the price the lease holder agreed to sell for the price I offer. This is a very BIG step for me because I have no experience AT ALL.

I used to run myown restaurant in Thailand and you know it's totally different compare to here. I don't know where to start?

The seller and I are happy with the price. We agreed to pay our own legal cost but I have to pay for landlord's on top of mine.

The shop is a lease hold and has just 18 months left for this present lease holder then the landlord will extend may be another 5-10 years.

The seller wants £5000 cash deposit before we start transferring progess. So? What should I do to start with please? How about the solicitor? In this case do I have to have my own as well or the landlord will deal with that?

Apart from business insurance...anything else I should have to run take away shop please?

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards,
    Nana

Go and see an independant solicitor as soon as possible.

The first thing to check is that the person you are negotiating with is able to let the property to you. Obviously any letting period appears to be short term,at least initially. What happens then? In other words,what can stop the landlord
    a/ evicting you
    b/ selling the property
    c/ increasing your rent
    d/ letting to someone else

Even when taking on the property you need to ensure that a schedule of delapidations is undertaken ie the property inspected.
    How is your purchase price/rent broken down? Are you paying for stock/fixtures/fittings/goodwill?